The Supremes, Slick Rick and Nile Rodgers lead the list of 2023 GRAMMY Lifetime Achievement Honorees

The Supremes, Slick Rick and Nile Rodgers lead the list of 2023 GRAMMY Lifetime Achievement Honorees

#Supremes #Slick #Rick #Nile #Rodgers #lead #list #GRAMMY #Lifetime #Achievement #Honorees Welcome to Alaska Green Light Blog, here is the new story we have for you today:

Click Me To View Restricted Videos

The Supremes, Slick Rick, and Nile Rodgers may all be hailed as pioneers for breaking new ground in the R&B/Pop, Hip-Hop/Rap, and Funk/Disco music genres, but despite that reverence, none of them have ever been from the Recording Academy for their own albums or singles.

That’s set to change on February 5, when all three legendary acts will enter the hallowed halls of GRAMMYs’ Lifetime Achievement recipients.

details inside.

On Thursday (January 5), Recording Academy released its official list of honorees for the Special Merit Awards, which will be presented at a separate Grammy ceremony on February 4 at the Wilshire Ebell Theater in Los Angeles.

“The Academy is proud to celebrate this diverse roster of influential music creators, across multiple genres and crafts, as our 2023 Special Merit Awards recipients,” said Harvey Mason Jr., CEO of The Recording Academy. “Each creator on this list has impacted our industry – from technical to creative achievements – and represents the breadth of the diverse music community,” he continued. “We look forward to celebrating this group of legends over the next month who continue to inspire and shape the music world.”

The Supremes, Nile Rodgers, rock sister duo Heart, Slick Rick, Bobby McFerrin, Nirvana, blues pioneer Gertrude “Ma” Rainey and other iconic names fill the list of Lifetime Achievement recipients. click here to see the full list.

Of particular note, Diana Ross, a 13-time GRAMMY nominee and sole surviving member of the original Supremes line-up, received a 2012 Academy Lifetime Achievement Award for her solo work.

This year she has a chance to win her first gold gramophone in the competition as her 2021 studio album Thank You is nominated in the Best Traditional Pop Vocal Album category.

Click Here To Continue Reading From Source

Related Articles

Back to top button